2013:
A Year in Review at Demac Media

2013 is coming to a close, and what a year it’s been! We thought, what better way to recap the year than to share some of our biggest highlights! From site launches, to new hires, office expansion and lots of social events, we had quite the year. Check out below for the biggest news items from the Demac Media team in 2013:

2013 Site Launches

Here’s a small sampling of the sites we launched this year!

Grafic
(www.grafic.com)
Launched: March 2013

Pink Tartan
(www.pinktartan.com)
Launched: March 2013

WizKids
(www.wizkids.ca)
Launched: March 2013

Lifford Wine
(www.liffordwine.com)
Launched: May 2013

Men Essentials
(www.menessentials.ca)
Launched: June 2013

Boomerang Kids
(www.boomerangkids.com)
Launched: July 2013

The September
(www.theseptember.com)
Launched: September 2013

HVAC
(www.hvac.com)
Humidifiers.com
(www.humidifiers.com)
Filtration.com
(www.filtration.com)
Launched: September 2013

Mackage
(www.mackage.com)
Launched: October 2013

Soïa & Kyo
(www.soiakyo.com)
Launched: October 2013

Mondor
(www.mondor.com)
Launched: December 2013

Responsive Design

Responsive Design was definitely a hot topic in 2013 for eCommerce. Although the industry is discussing the idea and practice of Responsive Design many merchants are still not implementing Responsive sites. Our team on the other hand, is practicing what we preach. We launched several responsive sites this year, two of biggest being: Snuggle Bugz and Ardene. Take a look below and explore their sites! Change your browser size on desktop, visit from a mobile device and experience responsive design first hand.

Snuggle Bugz
(www.snugglebugz.ca)

Ardene
(www.ardene.com)

Demac + Shopify = Wider Service Offering

This year we also expanded our service offering to include Shopify design/development! We’ve become an official Shopify Expert and couldn’t be more excited to start creating some amazing eCommerce websites using the Shopify platform. If you’re unfamiliar with Shopify check them out! They’re an amazing Canadian Tech success story and also just recently raised $100 million dollars!


Extensions, Extensions for everyone!

We had the chance to work with some pretty great companies this year and build custom extensions to better serve their customers by offering better functionality, integration and features within the Magento ecosystem. Here’s a breakdown of extensions we built in 2013:


Demac Media Canada Post Integration for Magento
If you need to integrate your Magento store with Canada Post, look no further! This extension not only offers public and custom rating services, it also has support for the complete shipping flow. From rate requests, to shipping label printing, manifest generation/printing, shipment cancellations, all the way to detailed package tracking. Get it here.


Optimal Payments NETBANX Magento Extension
The Optimal Payments Magento extension allows eCommerce businesses to securely accept and process online payments using Optimal’s NETBANX payment gateway and services. The integration is easy to implement and provides the ultimate in payment processing capabilities, fraud management, and reporting. Get it here.


Demac Media – AffiliateTraction Extension Suite
This extension suite provides merchants with the software to simplify integration between their Magento installation and global affiliate channels, unifying efforts across multiple networks and verticals while creating efficiencies that reduce strains on technical and marketing departments through automation of both setup and ongoing tasks. Get it here.


GivEx Gift Card Integration for Magento Enterprise
The Givex Module for Magento Enterprise is a seamless integration between Givex and your Magento eCommerce store. The included givex features are balance check, gift card redemption and cancellation of redemption. It disables the functionality of Magento’s native gift card to avoid gift card code authentication conflicts. Get it here.

Events, Conferences, and Talks!

2013 was definitely a social year! We participated in several events and conferences and even had a few speaking opportunities in between! Here’s a review of what our social side looked like in 2013:

Dx3 Canada
We exhibited at Dx3 Canada for the first time this year. For those unfamiliar with Dx3, it’s a two day expo held in the Metro Toronto Convention Center where all things digital in Canada (marketing, advertising and retail), come together to network and learn. This year Matt, our CEO spoke at Dx3 on how to build a backend system that sets you up for success. For a full recap, click here.

Magento Imagine
Next up, the biggest Magento conference in the world: Imagine! Our team headed to Las Vegas for 3 days of learning, networking and the opportunity to share knowledge with the international Magento community! We also exhibited within the marketplace among 85 other sponsors and had an absolute blast meeting people from all over the world! Check out our recap here.

Toronto eCommerce Forum
We held our 3rd annual Toronto eCommerce Forum alongside Magento, Canada Post, Peer 1 Hosting and Listrak this year and it was a huge success! We brought the Toronto eCommerce community together for a night of networking and learning where our invitees could interact one-on-one with some of the biggest names in our industry! Didn’t attend or want to relive the magic? We’ve got the recap for you! Or to get a feel for our forum events, check out this video below:



Montreal eCommerce Forum
We hosted our 2nd annual Montreal eCommerce Forum at the fabulous Le Newtown in downtown Montreal back in September. This year our sponsors included Magento, Canada Post, Tenzing, Optimal Payments and SLI Systems. We had a great night filled with eCommerce insights and networking along with some tasty apps and drinks along the way! Check out our recap for a full breakdown of the night’s events and some awesome photos.

eCommerce Toronto Meetup Group
If you’re looking for regular eCommerce discussion in Toronto, this meetup group is for you! We are over 400 members strong! But, what is eCommerce Toronto you might ask? Well, it’s a monthly open table discussion meetup hosted in the MaRS Heritage Building on various topics under the umbrella of eCommerce! So what are you waiting for? Join our growing community!

New Employees


There was 17 of us at the beginning of 2013, now going into 2014 we’ve doubled ourselves yet again, and will be up to 32 people! So we’d like to send a big warm welcome to all of our new hires that joined us in 2013:

Kassim, Emily, Jonathan, Justin, Ather, Dario, Jim,
James, Jason, Kyle, Simon, John, Tony, David and Nicole!

Check out our team page for the whole Demac family!

New Office Space

To accommodate our growing team size, this year we took over the 2nd floor in our building at our Toronto Headquarters! We now occupy both the 2nd and 3rd floor at 71 King Street East! We even had some fancy renos done which allowed us to build a second large scale board room for the team! Check out some pics below:


New York, New York!

We are very excited to announce that we have officially opened up our third office in New York City! We share the space with our friends at The Working Group, another awesome design and development agency based out of Toronto. We’re still working hard to build out the new space in NYC, but here’s a sneak peak of what the space will look like:


2014 and beyond

2013 was a stellar year not only for our team, but for Canadian eCommerce in general. We’re seeing insane growth rates across the global industry and more so in Canada. From desktop, to tablet, mobile and everything in between, we’re thrilled to be on the forefront of eCommerce design and development! Stay tuned for a big reveal from the Demac team in January 2014!